Sex, Lives and Red Tape

What are parties pledging for public health?

Its only a few days before we vote in the 2015 General Election, and I decided to do a quick audit of the main party manifestos against the FPH ‘Start Well, Live Better’ 12 point action plan for public health.

So how do the parties compare? (click to enlarge)

Election3

Methodology

I downloaded each full manifesto in PDF format and used the ‘advanced find’ command to identify where topics were discussed within the document. Please do let me know if I have made any mistakes and I will gladly amend the chart.

Declaration of interest: I have been a member of the Green Party of England and Wales since November 2014. I am therefore more familiar with their policies than those of other parties. However I used the same approach and discounted any policies which were not in the 2015 manifestos (even if the party has otherwise stated support, such as the Greens supporting plain-packaging for tobacco).

 

*NB updated on 06/06/15 to correct counting error (see comments)

2 comments on “What are parties pledging for public health?

  1. Anonymous
    May 5, 2015

    Your maths is wrong on the Labour column. Should be 2.5…

  2. carotomes
    May 5, 2015

    Ah yes, well spotted! Thanks for letting me know, I’ll correct it shortly.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Navigation